Log in

2020 Award Winners

Roger Trask Award

Dr. William J. Williams

The Society is pleased to award the 2020 Roger Trask Award to Dr. William J. Williams, the Chief of the Center for Cryptologic History (CCH) at the National Security Agency (NSA) from 2002 until 2016.  The award is in recognition of Bill’s service and leadership within the federal history community, including his tenure on the SHFG Executive Council (2003-2004) and terms as SHFG Vice President (2006-2007) and President (2007-2008).

Mary Ellen Trautman Award
Charles Downs

For long-standing service to the Society in maintaining the Society's archives, helping preserve the history of SHFG, and serving as the Society photographer 

Individual Member Award 
John Sprinkle, 
Saving Spaces: Historic Land Conservation in the United States

Office/Program Member Award

Office of the Secretary of Defense (OSD) Historical Office, “Foreign Travels of the Secretaries of Defense, 1948-2018”

James Madison, Article Prize
Elliot Young, “Caging Immigrants at McNeil Island Federal Prison, 1880-1940” 

Henry Adams Book Award
Glen R. Asner and Stephen J. Garber, 
Origins of 21st Century Space Travel  

Excellence In New Media Award

Ben Feist, ARES Division NASA Johnson Space Center
Apollo 11 In Real Time


Society for History in the Federal Government
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software