Log in


The Society awards three prizes to recognize service to the profession not necessarily associated with publication, historic preservation, or public interpretive display. 

The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Award
The most prestigious service award,  given every three years, recognizes outstanding contributions to the study of the federal government’s history. A recipient of this award does not need to be a society member.

The Maryellen Trautman Award
Recognizes outstanding service to the Society.

The Roger R. Trask Award
Honors historians whose work reflects the unique importance of federal history and the mission of the Society. The annual award winner delivers the plenary address or, alternatively, participates in the plenary panel at the Society’s annual meeting; his or her remarks are subsequently published in the Society’s journal, Federal History; and he or she receives an honorarium of $200 along with a certificate of recognition.

For a list of previous awardees, please see:


Society for History in the Federal Government
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software