Log in

Society for History in the Federal Government Member Awards

This annual award is given for excellence in scholarship on the history of the federal government, produced by a Society for History in the Federal Government member and a Federal Government History Office. The work may be presented in a publication, digital project, or other media. One award is given to an individual and one is given to an organization. 

Submission Guidelines


Entries [on which the member’s suitability for the award will be judged] may be monographs, articles, essays, edited collections, digital projects, or any other publicly available historical work produced by a member or organization on the history of the Federal Government. Submissions published online will be considered.

Entries are judged for value in furthering the understanding and history of the federal government; quality and thoroughness of research; style and appropriateness or presentation; suitability and rigor of methodology; and use of original and primary materials.

Submission Process

The award is made solely on the basis of the materials submitted to the Society for the History in the Federal Government Member Award Committee Members. The deadline for submissions is December 15, 2022. 

1. Nominations should be submitted through Google forms

2. Nominations should include a brief letter commenting on the merits of the nominee.

3. Nominations should include a copy of the nominee(s)’s resume or curriculum vitae.

Award Committee

Frederick Augustyn
Library of Congress

Christine Lamberson
Director of Judicial History
Federal Judicial Center

Tracey Baetz
Chief Curator
US Department of the Interior


Society for History in the Federal Government
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software