Log in

Society for History in the Federal Government Book Prize

This prize is given for an outstanding major publication on the federal government’s history.

Submission Guidelines
Entries may be narrative histories, edited collections of articles or essays, or any other published historical work of comparable scope. The prize is given to author(s) and/or editor(s). Entries are judged for value in furthering the understanding of the history of the federal government; quality and thoroughness of research; style and appropriateness of presentation; suitability and rigor of methodology; and use of original and primary materials.
If you have any questions contact the awards chair, Felicia Wivchar on

Submission Process

The award is made solely on the basis of the materials submitted to the prize Committee Members. Nominations are due December 15, 2022

1. Nominations should be submitted through Google forms

2. Nominations should include a copy of the nominee (s)’s resume or curriculum vitae.

3. One copy of the publication, accompanied by a brief letter stating the qualifications and merits of the nominated work, should be mailed to each member of the committee by the deadline. Addresses are detailed on the entry form.

Book Prize Committee:

Kristin Ahlberg, US Department of State

Shannon Granville, US Army Center of Military History

Zack Wilske, US Citizenship and Immigration Services


Society for History in the Federal Government
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software